Curating

So I recently went to see Curse Mackey speak at the Artist Alliance’s monthly meeting. He is truly an interesting guy. He started out as a DJ in San Antonino, TX then started to promote shows where he brought all the great Industrial bands there as well as the Beastie Boys.  He also was in a a band and toured with the band Pigface, which is one of my favorite bands. He also started to get into curating, and has been very successful at having shows that have toured around the world.

What really got me thinking was his curating career. Along time ago, before everything in my blew up, I really wanted to be a curator. I felt I could make a difference in the art world starting with Tampa.  But then, like I said, my life blew up. So now I find myself with an opportunity to become a curator if I take it.

As far as helping build the Tampa Bay area goes, I do think I can contribute to building up its community and furthering the conversation about art and what it means to have a sustainable art scene. Tampa, believe it or not, has a strong art community with many talented artist, curators and gallery owners, so I know I am not inventing the wheel in Tampa, but merely contributing to it. Which, after all, what we all should be doing.

So for the next year I am going to immerse myself into art, learning of to curate and building relationships with artist and gallery owners. This on top of my two film projects. And I am taking curating on because I don’t want to be a one trick pony. I like having different creative avenues to explore.  This is why I got back into painting, sculpting and photography. It also allows me to meet and create relationships with other creative people. Something I advise all filmmakers to do. Know other types of creative people from other disciplines. Get to know writers in your area. Go to as many art shows as you can.

Speaking of progress, I am deep into research. Today is Sunday and I am going to read all day starting with an interview of Melvin Van Pebbles in Bomb Magazine and then a book I am reading for my feature film. I give you updates on my progress. I will also be dedicating more time to writing in my blogs something I have been slacking at.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

